Production Diary: Firefly Remake

Firefly is an extremely obscure Commodore 64 game that I played for about 15 minutes in the late 80s and then fed to my goat (yes, I did have a goat. His name was Raul. I’ll tell you about him some other time). Before I did that, however, I was careful to record the in game music to tape so I could enjoy it on my Sanyo Xtreme Bass Walkman.

You see, the Commodore 64 had some amazing tunes. Blessed with a state of the art synthesizer, programmers made full use of its capabilities and created soundtracks that made the PCs and Macs of the time seem absolutely prehistoric by comparison.  Even when the game itself was arse (as in this case), the music was class. Mr. Fred Gray, one of the top game composers for the Commodore 64 and Amiga platforms at the time, created this forgotten gem.

And we wonder why 80s kids are on drugs…

Taking a break from album work, I decided to give this little ditty the remix treatment. This right here is the very rough first draft:

I have sampled the original lead synth track and filtered out most of the low end, but I’m not sure if it works, as the Commodore’s famously gritty sound quality doesn’t quite fit in with the rest of the production. I did try to recreate the lead sound, but I what am I but a mere child compared to Faethor Gray’s genius; the resulting riff doesn’t quite have the charm of the sampled one. It is a solid track however, and the underlying composition is timeless, so I am tempted to give it a go.

Thanks for reading!

3 Comments

  1. […] Diary-Firefly remake/mutation In last week’s production diary , I had expressed a great fondness for Commodore game music, and a desire to remix one of its most […]

  2. I like this one better!

  3. […] The Production Diary is back after a bit, and I am pleased to report that the Firefly remake that almost didn’t make it before mutating into something completely different, is now complete. Ladies and gentleman, […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Ingredients