Slappin’ The Bass! Great Basslines In Dance: Mr. Oizo/Flat Beat

The basslines IS the track. That, and the puppet, and the music video, and the Levi’s commercial, made this arguably one of the the weirdest number ones in UK chart history.

Look past the gimmicks however, and you have a fine specimen of what I like to call Electrobass: fart-tastic analog nastiness, skippy minimal beats and, well, not much else.

My upcoming remix for Cat Carson’s Beware Of The Electro Dog is a modern take on the style, and while I have a lot more going on here, it can certainly be considered a spiritual son to Monsieur Oizo’s manic MS-20 masterpiece. Puppet or no puppet.

2 Comments

  1. […] you’ll know my basslines are usually also the hooks of my tracks (I call it Electro Bass, as discussed here), so this one had to be special. The whole song, as it turns out, ended up being a bit special, as […]

  2. […] you’ll know my basslines are usually also the hooks of my tracks (I call it Electro Bass, as discussed here), so this one had to be special. The whole song, as it turns out, ended up being a bit special, as […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • May 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Ingredients