Electro Of The Week: 7/23/2010 Quick Picks

All dirty all the time, with a twist on that old Sam Fox classic. 3 sizzlers guaranteed to turn up the heat up in here, up in here. Or something along those lines anyway!

Alex Mind: Binary 1.0 (Driving, retro, futuristic, electro-bass)

Far Too Loud: Banana Boy (Chunky, goofy, hyperactive, peak-time)

Robaer & Beatnut5 feat. Tainy Sky: Touch Me-Gianni Kosta Remix (Progressive, commercial, vocal, catchy)

Preview and support at Trackitdown. And please promote legal MP3 downloads.


Electro Of The Week: Say My Name by Jeff Daniels (feat. Tonye Aganaba)

No, not that Jeff Daniels (at least I don’t think so).

This is one of those rare crossover tracks that manages to avoid the double cheese factor, even though it boasts all of the accouterments: sassy vocal, party lyrics, and well, sassy vocal really.

How you ask? The production. It’s slick, confident and ballsy without trying too hard to be flavor of the month.

I like that.

Yet another solid release from the Plasmapool label.

Preview and support at Trackitdown. And please promote legal MP3 downloads!

Production Diary: Mr. Jackson’s Boys-From Firefly to simply Fly!

The Production Diary is back after a bit, and I am pleased to report that the Firefly remake that almost didn’t make it before mutating into something completely different, is now complete.

Ladies and gentleman, Superstar DJs, I present to you, Mr. Jackson’s Boys, a 7+ minute intense Electro workout (think Put Your Hands Up For Detroit, only better ;)) featuring the magnificent vocals of a young up and coming R&B singer from Gary, Indiana: Mr. M. Jackson.

The all important high hat is now present and correct, the arrangement (which is always tricky when dealing with a sampled vocal) is simply Shamon, and I am especially pleased with how the middle section leads into the breakdown and the outro. Ow!

There were some changes: the ‘digital’ bassline was ditched in favor of a warmer ‘analog’ one (Poly Ana), while the strings (Solina style-also Poly Ana) were pitched down to make them less obtrusive (thank you Robert Post’s child).

I used a warm toasty compressor on the drums and master, boosted some of the lows, cut some of the mids (smiley face EQ), and there you have it. Took me way to long to finish this, but I’m glad I did!

I am thinking of a Beatport/Trackitdown release date around mid April, immediately after the FTTP re-release on Noobish and the Aaren San remixes on Plasmapool. Busy month ahead.

Mike would be proud!

Electro Of The Week: Fairy Tales From Osc by Aaren San

Electro rocker Aaren San is on a roll. First the excellent Revenge Of The Humaniacs EP (remixes from yours truly coming soon), and now this mini monster.  Taken off the ominously titled Book of Electronomicon, the delightfully obese Fairy Tales From Osc is a breath of fresh (filtered pumping) air.

With its trademark chunky Aaren groove, glorious bassline, deliciously retro string synth and wicked vocal hook, this is a tune that gets going and never lets up. The way San layers and juxtaposes each part throughout the track is a masterclass in Electro production. Watch out for this lad in 2010 ladies, he’s gonna get big…

Click album cover to Preview and support at Beatport. And please promote legal MP3 downloads!

Phatso Brown (Plasmapool) – Trackitdown Top 10 – December 2009

This week’s entry is a bit special as we have not one, but ten top Electro anthems as featured on my December Trackitdown Top 10 chart. There are a couple of  previous Electro of the Week picks on here (Yenn’s ‘Rising’ and DJ Macro’s ‘Seduction’), as well as some real monsters like Oshi One’s square wave heavy groover ‘Way You Move’, Stonewash & Fagault’s grinding Electro anthem ‘Hey Lady’, and Alex Gopher’s superb remix of The Subs’ anthem ‘My Punk is Funk’.

Also featured: Tech Funk legend Lee Coombs’ latest rave/acid workout ‘Moog Acid’, Madsen’s epic ‘Escape Velocity’, Dave Spritz’s exceptional remix of an MJ classic, and ‘F@ck Thru The Pain’ from yours truly! In short, ten tracks guaranteed to get your bum moving uncontrollably!

Click my face and get ’em at Trackitdown!

1. Dave Spritz: Smooth Criminal (Karmicsounds)
2. Oshi One: Way You Move (Big Fish Recordings)
3. Yenn: Rising (Plasmapool)
4. Stonewash & Fagault: Hey Lady (Plasmapool)
5. Aaren San: Friction-Phatso Brown Remix (Plasmapool)
6. Lee Coombs: Moog Acid (Lot 49)
7. The Subs: My Punk Is Punk-Alex Gopher Remix (Go 4 Music)
8. Madsen: Escape Velocity (Fluid Groove)
9. DJ Macro: Seduction (Kernel Records)
10. Phatso Brown: F.T.T.P (Fluid Groove)

Release Report: Aaren San’s Friction-Phatso Brown RMX (Out Now on Beatport/Trackitdown!)

My brand new remix of long haired Electro rebel Aaren San’s smash hit ‘Friction’ is out now on the trendy Aelaektropopp label, a subsidiary of Myles Dyson’s red hot Plasmapool Records.

Also be sure to check out the Original Mix from the San Man, as well as the insane Costello Remix!

This is my second remix for Signor San, the first being Breathless, released earlier this year on Plasmapool.

Thanks for the shot Aaren!

Phatso Brown’s ‘Breathless’ Remix on Chicago Party Mix FM


Windy city DJ hero Eddie ‘Getdown’ Ortiz features my remix of Aaren San’s Breathless on Chicago’s very own Party Mix FM. Thanks Eddie!

You can listen to the entire DJ set featuring Breathless (and what a set it is indeed) here:

  • July 2018
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug    
  • Ingredients